View from Florrie's balcony

View from Florrie’s balcony

Last week I packed my bags and I went to France. I’d finished my January exams and had a couple of days off before semester two began so I decided to visit my friend Florrie in France. I was a little nervous that I wouldn’t make it to her. It is a long journey (it took me nearly 11 hours door to door!) involving finding your way across Paris. Luckily the little French I remembered from school was enough to get me by and I arrived safely in Vichy. We spent the next day relaxing, eating cakes and drinking wine. We took a trip to the cinema to see Quentin Tarantino’s latest film Django Unchained, which I absolutely loved, fortunately for me it was in English with French subtitles. On the Friday we took a train to Clermont-Ferrand and spent the day walking around the town, admiring its impressive cathedral and statues. Saturday was my last day in France and Florrie had bought us tickets to see the ballet, Swan Lake at Vichy’s Opera House. It was the perfect end to my trip, before the long journey home again on the Sunday morning.

The walk up to Clermont-Ferrand town centre

The walk up to Clermont-Ferrand town centre

Clermont-Ferrand town centre

Clermont-Ferrand town centre

Cathedral at Clermont-Ferrand

Cathedral at Clermont-Ferrand

Inside Vichy Opera House

Inside Vichy Opera House

Leaving France at Gare du Nord, Paris

Leaving France at Gare du Nord, Paris

