20130507-143240.jpg
Yesterday was May bank holiday and after spending a day in the sunshine I cooked dinner for my friends. For the main I made one of Jamie Oliver’s pasta recipes but it was the pudding I was really excited about. I bought the second Great British Bake Off cookbooks over Easter and this dish caught my eye straight away. In the book they use blueberries instead of raspberries but the rest of the recipe I kept the same, I even made my own pastry. The Galette is made using Pâte Brisée (Shortcrust pastry) which is rolled to a large circle before being folded up around the fruit, which has been tossed in sugar (50g, though I added slightly more as my nectarines weren’t quite ripe) and cornflour. This was my first time making pastry and I wasn’t sure what to expect, but it worked out rather well. The recipe I used is from “The Great British Bake Off: How to turn everyday bakes into showstoppers”, but there are plenty of recipes available online (such as this one).

My well was a little on the small side, I hadn’t taken into account how many ingredients I had to fit in it, before getting the beak hand involved in mashing them all together. Once I mixed together all the ingredients I was left with a neat ball of pastry that was wrapped up tight and left to chill for half an hour. Having chilled the pastry was ready to roll, with a wine bottle. Being a student I haven’t felt the need to invest in a rolling-pin when an old bottle will do just fine, we’ve been using the same wine bottle as a rolling-pin for sometime now, not sure it can be called wine anymore, it’s probably vinegar. Rolled and trimmed into a neat circle, the pastry has to be covered and chilled again while the fruit was prepared. A quick covering in sugar and flour for the fruit and the Galette was ready to assemble. The pastry was folded and pleated up around the fruit, before being brushed with melted butter and given a further sprinkling of sugar. All that was left to do was bake till golden (about 40 minutes), leave to cool slightly before being served warm with extra thick double cream. It went down a treat, with three of my friends tucking into seconds and I finished the last slice today sat in the garden enjoying the sun.

20130507-164534.jpg20130507-164543.jpg20130507-164552.jpg20130507-164625.jpg20130507-164635.jpg20130507-164606.jpg20130507-164649.jpg20130507-164657.jpg

