20130716-140246.jpgMy mum first made this dessert over the Easter holidays, since then I have wanted to make it again and seeing as my sister wasn’t able to try any at Easter it seemed like a nice way to spend the evening together. We have altered the recipe slightly from the original one from Waitrose, we couldn’t manage to add the vanilla extract without the chocolate separating so this time we didn’t include it. Waitrose also suggest using burnt sugar fudge but we opted for vanilla dairy fudge, though I am looking forward to trying different variations on this pudding. It is perfect for summer as it doesn’t require any baking and is a nice cold dessert topped with more fresh fruit and extra cream!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The recipe as given on the Waitrose card is here though a few things to note;

ONE. I have already mentioned the trouble we had when adding the vanilla extract to the chocolate, I’m not sure if this was just our extract or not, but I was thinking it might work adding it to the cream but I don’t feel that it lost anything not having the additional vanilla, expecially as we used vanilla fudge.

TWO. Be sure to let the chocolate cool! My sister and I didn’t leave it to cool long enough… The cream went runny again and all in all we had to start that section of the making process again. We couldn’t help it, we were too excited! But yes, be sure to wait to let the chocolate cool and then everything will be fine.

Our ideas for different variations on the pudding include using dark chocolate instead of milk, different variations of fudge such as rum & raisin, I particularly want to make it again after a trip to the fudge shop in Cambridge, to see what types of fudge I can find.

