ImageLast weekend my boyfriend and I headed to Norfolk for a weekend by the sea with his family. We drove up on our own after we had both finished work, since I knew we were going to be driving before getting a chance to have any dinner (well I didn’t anyway, he managed to fit in a burger on his way home) I decided to make us some road snacks. I don’t know if it was because I had spent the last two weeks looking after a ten year old or not, but I really fancied Rice Krispie cakes. These that I made are a more grown up version, compared to my normal thrown together mix, using browned butter and salt (recipe here). To all the doubters out there, including my mum, the salt made these Rice Krispie treats amazing. I had also never made them with melted marshmallows before, when we make cereal cakes in my house we either use golden syrup or chocolate, or maybe even both. But having tried these marshmallow ones I will definitely be making them again, since we scoffed nearly the whole lot in the two hour car ride!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAP.S I’m sorry I don’t have any conversions for the recipe, one of the good things about being home is that when I follow American recipes I don’t have to convert as my mum still works in ounces too!

