20131002-220800.jpgAt the beginning of the month I wrote a post sharing with you the rough plans I had for how I wanted my room at university to be (seen here). A few weeks on and following the arrival of my student loan I think my room is finally finished. I have tried to be clever when using my wall-to-wall wardrobes, starting on the left hand side of the room the wardrobes hold my coats, some jumpers (that need to hung), tops and shirts, trousers and skirts. The shelving holds my spare toiletries and all my foldable items, along with bags and my sewing machine at the bottom. Under the hanging space are my wellies ready for if we get hit by snow again and my suitcases. In the right wardrobes hang all my dresses, which I have tried to colour order. Next to the dresses I have started a bar cart on a trolley that was here when I arrived, inspired by this Cupcakes and Cashmere post. This wardrobe is also where I store all my paper work aka things I can’t be bothered to sort! Surprisingly wall-to-wall wardrobes were not enough storage space for my collection of knitwear.

Opposite the wardrobes sits my trunk, which now contains all my jumpers that wouldn’t fit in the wardrobes. Unlike last year I am trying to keep what I put up on my walls to a minimum, instead I have made a collage on the inside of my trunk lid, so everything can still be displayed but without risking my deposit at the end of the year. In the corner sits my desk, which I have tried to make functional but I have a large amount of clutter that try as I might I can’t manage to reduce. Next to my desk is a small set of drawers which doubles as my extended dressing table, with all my make up and toiletries easily accessible. My jewellery is currently scattered slightly, with my fine necklaces hanging off my desk mirror, larger necklaces on the TV stand, bangles on the window sill and earrings hanging from a jewellery holder.

Finally is my favourite part of my room. At the end of my bed by my radiator and set of drawers sits my record player. It rests on a lovely cheap end table from Ikea, which I plan to do up a bit to make it into something a bit more interesting. I love this little area of my room with the record player and my new rug, which is from Urban Outfitters (I got it during their 20% off sale). I sit myself on the little chair as I skim through my records before putting one on and dancing round my room. I know my room isn’t perfect and there is still work to be done (we have a bit of a damp issue throughout) but seeing as it’s a student property and there is only so much I can do, I’m pretty pleased with how it has turned out. Have a good weekend!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

