IMG_0437This weekend has been one for exercising my domestic abilities, cleaning the house, cooking a delicious Sunday dinner and baking this tasty loaf. The recipe is from Hummingbird’s Cake Days book, I wasn’t sure about putting sour cream into a cake but having tasted the final product I can say I was wrong to ever doubt Hummingbird. So after a busy weekend of domestication it was nice to sit down with a cup of tea and a slice of loaf and do nothing for just a minute before finding something else to do. I have included a link to buy the recipe book, but if you fancy a much more purse friendly option, you can also find the recipe here. As it says don’t worry if your blueberries sink, as you can see from the photos mine all began to sink to the bottom. But since I have looked into a tricks that can reduce the amount the berries sink; ensuring they are fully defrosted (if using frozen), then tossing them in flour. This helps reduce the amount of liquid they release into the mix, which is what causes them to sink. I haven’t tried this trick out yet, but I’m sure I’ll get a chance soon, as I can see this loaf quickly becoming a favourite.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

