20140105-230921.jpgSo a new year begins and many of us are busy compiling lists of resolutions we aim to keep this year and I’m no different. Above is a short list I’ve compiled, though even in the time spent uploading it to this post I’ve thought of more resolutions I should have included. Tomorrow university starts and with three deadlines and five exams approaching at break-neck speed I’ve of course completed everything and am now taking my time revising. Wrong, instead I’ve left it all to the last minute and am frantically churning out reports and highlighting key points, as where’s the fun in a relaxing start of term? Another resolution to add to the list; be more organised and not leave things to the last minute. As for the other resolutions I aim to tackle this year;

  • Improve flexibility ~ my aim is to be able to get my hands flat on the floor by the end of the year. Since I have managed to settle myself into a fitness regime my flexibility is next to be addressed and hope to try out yoga or Pilates classes to help me along.
  • Stop picking split ends ~ this is an awful habit that I have and I really need to stop. It’s not going well so far but I’m not sure I’m counting my resolutions to start until after my exams finish.
  • Reduce spending and save for Australia ~ after I graduate my boyfriend and I are planning on moving to Australia for a year. It’s such an exciting opportunity and I can’t wait for the adventure to start, but in order to do this I need to stop spending money on clothes and ensure I put more aside for savings.
  • Start drawing more ~ I used to love art and drew all the time, attending life drawing classes. Since coming to university I barely have any time for creativity anymore. So this year I hope to start drawing again and maybe even attend a short course in the Easter or Summer.
  • Learn an instrument ~ either the guitar or piano, I am the only one in my family who can’t play an instrument, they can all play piano and my brother also plays the guitar, this year I don’t want to be the only one left out.
  • Have adventures ~ it’s my last year of university and I don’t want to waste it, this year will also be my last summer before I have to get a job, so I want to grab opportunities as they cross my path and make the most of the year.

  • I feel that these resolutions and the challenge of improving my organisation are plenty to be getting on with for now, I will let you know how they are going and good luck to all of you who have made New Year’s resolutions too!

