20140303-115315.jpg
Today marks the beginning of lent. Last year I decided to give up fizzy drinks for lunch since my consumption of them averaged at least a can a day. It was a tough forty days where I realised how addicted to them I was, for the first week I suffered from caffeine withdrawal symptoms, the headaches were awful! Sadly since lent last year has ended I have gone back to enjoying fizzy drinks freely although can now go some days without them. Despite them definitely being a habit I need to ultimately kick, this year I have decided to target my main addiction. Shopping. Until Easter I am limiting myself to only buying the essentials, food, toiletries etc. So it is goodbye to Topshop, ASOS, Urban Outfitters and all the other stores I frequent with my dwindling bank balance. I am not even going to allow myself to buy any new make up (I have a habit of picking up a nail polish or two every time I enter Boots), which shouldn’t be too bad since I recently replaced all my make up, it all ran out at once! This is going to be a tough month but hopefully if I take it a day at a time, ignoring all the emails I receive from shops (it ranges from four to about ten a day depending on the promotions), I will make it through the month and save myself some money. I think I will also spend this month going through my wardrobe and getting rid of items that I really don’t need anymore either by selling them or donating them. Whatever you have decided to give up for lent, good luck!

